Falkland islands

Prayer times in Falkland islands

2:09 PM • -04:00 GMT

Payer Times for Cities in Falkland islands


Prayer Times of Others Cities in Falkland islands

About Falkland islands

The Falkland Islands, located about 300 miles east of South America's southern Patagonian coast, is a British Overseas Territory comprising of two main islands, East Falkland and West Falkland, along with around 776 smaller islands. The capital city is Stanley, a picturesque town located on East Falkland, that is the economic, cultural, and governmental hub of the islands. English is the predominant language here, echoing its British colonial legacy. The Falkland Islands encompass a land area of approximately 12,173 square kilometers, much of it being rugged, hilly terrain with spectacular coastlines that are a haven for diverse wildlife. The islands are particularly famous for their populations of penguins, sea lions, and various bird species, including the black-browed albatross, which attract nature enthusiasts and birdwatchers from around the world. The local economy is primarily based on agriculture, with sheep farming being the predominant industry. Fishing, tourism, and oil exploration also play significant roles. The culture of the Falkland Islands is essentially British in character with sports like rugby and cricket being popular. The islands are known for their rich history, particularly the 1982 Falklands War fought between the UK and Argentina over sovereignty issues. Despite the historical tension, the islands today remain a peaceful, remote location that offer a unique blend of natural beauty, wildlife, and cultural heritage, attracting tourists from across the globe.