Pitcairn islands

Prayer times in Pitcairn islands

1:13 AM • -08:00 GMT

Payer Times for Cities in Pitcairn islands


Prayer Times of Others Cities in Pitcairn islands

About Pitcairn islands

The Pitcairn Islands, officially known as the Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands, are a collection of four volcanic islands situated in the southern Pacific Ocean, known as the final refuge of the HMS Bounty mutineers. These islands are British Overseas Territories, making them the least-populous national jurisdiction in the world with approximately 50 inhabitants as of 2023. The islands are located about halfway between Peru and New Zealand, making them some of the most isolated communities in the world. Of the four islands, only Pitcairn Island, the second largest, is inhabited. The populace is mainly descendants of the Bounty mutineers and Tahitians or Polynesians who came along with them, an event immortalized in literature and film. English is the primary language used in the island. The islands' economy primarily comprises subsistence farming, handicrafts, honey production, and postage stamps. Due to its remote location, the Pitcairn Islands have been able to maintain a rich biodiversity, with numerous endemic species. In recognition of this unique ecosystem, the Pitcairn Islands were designated in 2016 as a large marine reserve, making its surrounding seas one of the world's largest marine protected areas. The islanders, British government, and international organizations are continually working on preserving this biodiversity, while also trying to improve the infrastructure and quality of life on the island to attract more settlers, as the population of this unique place keeps dwindling.