Western sahara

Prayer times in Western sahara

9:30 PM • +00:00 GMT

Payer Times for Cities in Western sahara


Prayer Times of Others Cities in Western sahara

About Western sahara

Western Sahara is a disputed territory located on the northwest coast of Africa, bordered by Morocco to the north, Algeria to the northeast, Mauritania to the east and south, and the Atlantic Ocean on the west. It is one of the most sparsely populated territories in the world, mainly consisting of desert flatlands. The largest city and the administrative center is Laâyoune. The territory of Western Sahara has been disputed since the end of Spanish colonial rule in 1975, primarily between Morocco, which controls approximately 75% of the territory, and the Polisario Front, an independence movement backed by Algeria seeking the establishment of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. The Polisario Front declared an independent state in 1976, which has been recognized by a number of countries and is a full member of the African Union. Despite this, the UN does not recognize the sovereignty of either side and considers Western Sahara a non-decolonized territory. Culturally, the people of Western Sahara are predominantly Sahrawis, who share cultural ties to Berber, Arab, and African influences, with Arabic as the main language. Their economy is based largely on pastoral nomadism, fishing, and phosphate mining, the latter being a source of tension due to the significant reserves in the territory. Although the conflict has caused significant disruption, the people of Western Sahara continue to strive for a resolution and maintain their rich cultural traditions despite the ongoing political challenges.