British indian ocean territory

Prayer times in British indian ocean territory

3:58 PM • +06:00 GMT

Payer Times for Cities in British indian ocean territory


Prayer Times of Others Cities in British indian ocean territory

About British indian ocean territory

The British Indian Ocean Territory, or BIOT, is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom located in the Indian Ocean, halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia. It consists of 55 small islands, with the largest one being Diego Garcia, which hosts a military base jointly operated by the United States and the United Kingdom. The other islands, spread over a wide expanse of 640,000 square kilometers of pristine blue waters, remain uninhabited. BIOT was established on 8 November 1965 when several islands were detached from the colonial territory of Mauritius to form the current territory. The islands are famed for their rich biodiversity, including vibrant coral reefs, tropical fish, and rare bird species. In fact, the territory has been designated as a Marine Protected Area to conserve this unique biodiversity. The local climate is tropical, with high humidity and a temperature range of 25-30 degrees Celsius throughout the year. The archipelago's strategic location has led to its historical importance as a coaling station and military base. Today, it has limited economic activity apart from the military base and the territory’s administration is based out of London. The Chagos Archipelago is part of the territory, and it's an area of ongoing territorial dispute with Mauritius, which claims sovereignty over the archipelago.