Prayer times in Tonga

6:43 PM • +13:00 GMT

Payer Times for Cities in Tonga


Prayer Times of Others Cities in Tonga

About Tonga

Tonga, officially named the Kingdom of Tonga, is a captivating archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean, comprising 169 islands, 36 of which are inhabited. Spread over 700,000 square kilometers of ocean, Tonga's diverse islands form three main groups: Tongatapu, Ha'apai, and Vava'u. The nation's population is around 105,000, with most Tongans residing on the main island of Tongatapu, where the bustling capital, Nuku'alofa, is also located. The history of this Polynesian state extends over a millennium, with the first settlers arriving around 1500 B.C. Tonga stands unique in the Pacific region for maintaining its indigenous governance in the face of foreign invaders, preserving its sovereignty throughout the colonial era. The Tongan monarchy dates back to 950 A.D., with the current monarch being a direct descendant of the first king. Tonga's tropical climate and picturesque landscapes of white sandy beaches, clear blue waters, lush rainforests, and towering volcanic peaks have attracted travelers from around the globe. The country's economy primarily revolves around agriculture, tourism, and remittances from Tongan communities overseas, supplemented by a growing sector of offshore financial services. Tongan culture, rich and vibrant, holds fast to its ancestral traditions. Tongan music, dance (particularly the 'kailao' and 'ma'ulu'ulu'), kava ceremonies, and tapa cloth making are integral parts of these traditions. Tonga is also renowned for its whale-watching opportunities; humpback whales regularly migrate to Tonga's warm waters to breed and calve.