Wallis and futuna

Prayer times in Wallis and futuna

4:31 AM • +12:00 GMT

Payer Times for Cities in Wallis and futuna


Prayer Times of Others Cities in Wallis and futuna

About Wallis and futuna

Wallis and Futuna, officially known as the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands, is a French island collectivity in the South Pacific Ocean located about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii to New Zealand. The territory consists of three main volcanic tropical islands and numerous tiny islets, split between two archipelagoes: the Wallis Islands in the north and the Hoorn Islands (Futuna and Alofi) in the south. The capital, Mata-Utu, is located on the island of Uvéa in the Wallis Islands. The entire population of just over 11,000 people is mostly Polynesian, and French and Wallisian are the predominant languages. Wallis and Futuna's economy is limited due to its remote location and lack of natural resources, being primarily based on subsistence agriculture, fishing, and support from mainland France. It's worth noting that the culture is distinctly Polynesian with a strong French influence, particularly seen in the dual use of French and Polynesian languages and the adaptation of the traditional Polynesian 'Kava' ceremony. Wallis and Futuna is unique among French territories in the Pacific in that it has three traditional kingdoms recognized by the French state, which play a role in local politics. Despite the challenges of remoteness and lack of resources, the Wallis and Futuna Islands remain vibrant with a rich Polynesian culture and French influence.